The 2018 F1 season, where can the turn-ups happen? 

Roy The Boy looks at the 2018 Formula 1 Season and examines the tracks that require different qualities from the cars.

The 2018 F1 season, where can the turn-ups happen? 

The 2018 F1 season will consist of 21 races, it’s only the second time so many races have been held during a regular season, the other being 2016.  The French Grand Prix, at the Paul Ricard Circuit, is the new race on the roster.  The circuit has not staged an F1 race since 1990 and has had a lot of improvements since.

There are three types of circuit:  those requiring ‘high downforce’ such as Monaco, those requiring ‘low downforce’, such as Italy and those in-between, ‘medium downforce’ like the British GP.

This means there is rarely such a thing as the ‘best car’ per-se as those that go well at one type of circuit do not necessarily go as well at another.  Thankfully bookmakers do not always understand this.

Good, bad and ugly

The tracks where upsets are most likely are ‘high downforce’ circuits – the tight, twisty street tracks where legitimate overtaking is neigh impossible.  This is Singapore and Monaco.  Despite not being street circuits, you can add Hungary to this list and, to a lesser degree, Barcelona.

Azerbaijan is an exception to this rule, it may have some enormously long and fast straights but it also has narrow walled sections.  It is a recipe which gave us one of the most exciting races of recent times last year.

The season opener in Australia showed us it is still unlikely any car other than a Mercedes, Red Bull or Ferrari can or will win races in 2018 but the McLaren team, particularly their star driver Fernando Alonso, has massive potential and the Haas team have every chance of picking up some podium finishes in scrappy races.

2017 Stats

Of 2017’s 20 races a dozen required a Safety Car, eight did not.  Five races had a winning margin in excess of 10secs, 12 were under 5sec and three races were between 5.01sec and 9.99sec.  The most finishers came in Malaysia where 18 of 19 starters saw the chequered flag.  Singapore had the highest number of DNF’s, eight in total.

2018 F1 Calendar

25th March                Australian GP – Melbourne

8th April                     Bahrain GP – Sakhir

15th April                   Chinese GP – Shanghai

29th April                   Azerbaijan GP – Baku

13th May                    Spanish GP – Barcelona

27th May                    Monaco GP – Monaco

10th June                  Canadian GP – Montreal

24th June                  French GP – Le Castellet

1st July                      Austrian GP – Spielberg

8th July                      British GP – Silverstone

22nd July                  German GP – Hockenheim

29th July                    Hungarian GP – Budapest

26th August               Belgian GP – Spa-Francorchamps

2nd September         Italian GP – Monza

16th September        Singapore GP – Marina Bay

30th September        Russian GP – Sochi

7th October               Japanese GP – Suzuka

21st October              United States GP – Austin

28th October             Mexican GP – Mexico City

11th November         Brazilian GP – Sao Paulo

25th November         Abu Dhabi GP – Yas Marina