Epsom’s Derby & Oaks Form Pointers

Roy The Boy provides some useful stats and pointers for the Investec Derby and Oaks.

Epsom’s Derby & Oak’s Form Pointers



The Good Things

Five of the last ten Epsom Derby winners have started favourite and it has been 18 years since a Derby winner was sent off at 8/1 or bigger.

The Big Ones

‘At First Sight’ finished runner-up in 2010 Derby at 100/1.  The maiden ‘Dragon Dancer’ filled the same position at 66/1 in 2006.  And, in 1989 Terimon finished third at 500/1!

Five Timers

Aidan O’Brien and Sir Michael Stoute who have won the Derby five times apiece.

Best Trial

York’s Dante Stakes has been the best guides to the destination of the Epsom Derby.  In 2015 Golden Horn won the Dante before claiming the Derby as did Authorised in 2007, Motivator in 2005 and North Light in 2004.  2010 Epsom Derby winner, Workforce, finished an unlucky second in that year’s Dante.



The Long Shots

In the past ten years the Oaks winner has been sent off 20/1 or bigger six times.

O’Brien’s Five

Irish trainer Aidan O’Brien matches his record of five Derby wins with five Oaks winners making the most successful active trainer of the current era.

Best Trials

There is no defined trial race which has consistently thrown up Oaks winners. The Lingfield Oaks trial has been a fruitless source of winners, 1999 was the last time a winner of this race went on to claim the Oaks.

As for the 1000 Guineas, the last time a Guineas winner went on to win the Oaks was 2002 when Kazzia claimed both races.

Ten out of Ten

All of the last ten Oaks winners had:  Run once just or twice that season;

Ran in the last 35 days; Made their two-year-old debut after June 1st.


Previous Oaks Winners, their trainers and SP


2015   Qualify                       AP O’Brien                50/1

2014   Taghrooda                 J Gosden                   5/1

2013   Talent                         R Beckett                   20/1

2012   Was                            AP O’Brien                20/1

2011   Dancing Rain           W Haggis                   20/1

2010   Snow Fairy                E Dunlop                   9/1

2009   Sariska                       M Bell                         9/4F

2008   Look Here                  R Beckett                   33/1

2007   Light Shift                  H Cecil                       25/1

2006   Alexandrova             AP O’Brien                6/4F